Santa Lucia Parish Church

Since the Santa Lucia church has been declared as a Parish, seven priests have been entrusted with the spiritual leadership of the Santa Lucia community.


Parish Priest since 1969 - 2012

Fr Joe Bugeja was the first parish priest between 1978 and 1984
Fr Charles Cordina was the second parish priest between 1984 and 1988
Fr Joe Magro
Fr Joe Magro was the third parish priest between 1988 and 1996
Fr Gordon Refalo was the fourth parish priest between 1996 and 2000
Fr Etienne Caruana was the fifth parish priest between 2000 and 2007
Fr Ivan Scicluna was the sixth parish priest between 2007 and 2012
Fr Malcolm Agius was the seventh parish priest between 2012 and 2015
Fr Charles Attard was the eigth parish priest between 2015 and 2017

Click on the images to read about the Pope's and the church history respectively.

Before Santa Lucia has become a parish it had Fr Manuel Mifsud as a rector for 55 years. This was between 1923 - 1978.

During these times mass used to be celebrated in a small chapel